

ANU PRODUCTIONS AND LANDMARK PRODUCTIONS

THE BOOK OF NAMES

4-23 OCT THE PUMPHOUSE, DUBLIN PORT

In days of upheaval a new resilience has taken hold. Two of Ireland's leading theatre companies collaborate for the first time, to present a hugely ambitious coproduction that plots a singular path through one of the most secretive, contentious and turbulent times in Irish history.

Drawing on two 100-year old books-a unique historical ledger which documents in careful detail the names, ages and roles of every employee in Dublin Port, and an intelligence dossier containing names and photographs of potential targets—The Book of Names tells a tale of espionage, high stakes and a deadly game of historical doublethink.

Age: 16+

Warnings: Contains loud noises, violence, adult themes and references to death.



VENUE INFO & DATES

The Pumphouse, Dublin Port

Previews: 29 Sept- 2 Oct Dates: 4 Oct - 23 Oct

Duration: 70 mins

FOREWORD

Since 2012 the Dublin Port Company (DPC) has been involved in a very ambitious programme of redevelopment and improving capacity. Central to that redevelopment is the idea of Port City Integration and using the 300 year old Port Archive to tell the story of the Port. In 2015 we opened the Diving Bell. Dublin's smallest museum and in 2021 we are launching the Pumphouse Heritage Zone, a 2 acre civic space. When we thought of who we would like to launch this new space we felt ANU Productions were the only theatre company who could bring this area to life and create a show to tell of the events of the Irish Wars of 1919-23 in Dublin Port and City.

- Lar Joye, Port Heritage Director at Dublin Port Company

COMPANY INFO

ANU PRODUCTIONS

Established in April 2009, ANU is led by theatre-maker Louise Lowe, Visual Artist Owen Boss and Producers / Curators Lynnette Moran and Matthew Smyth. Together they have created 46 seminal works, public art commissions, gallery installations and museum interpretations, creating a new brand that is gaining worldwide momentum. Heralded by The Irish Times as creating the "most searing and provocative art works of the past decade".

anuproductions. ie

LANDMARK PRODUCTIONS

Landmark Productions is one of Ireland's leading theatre producers. It produces wide-ranging work in Ireland, and shares that work with international audiences. Led by Anne Clarke since the company's foundation in 2003, its productions have received multiple awards and have been seen in leading theatres in London, New York and beyond. In January 2021 it established Landmark Live, a new online streaming platform which enables it to bring the thrill of live theatre to audiences around the world.

landmarkproductions.ie

CAST & CREW

Written and directed by Louise Lowe

Design: Owen Boss

Lighting Design: Sarah Jane Shiels

Costume Design: Jack Scullion
Music and Sound: Philip Stewart

Cast: Lewis Brophy, Tony Doyle, Darragh Feehely, Etta Fusi, Úna Kavanagh Michael Glenn Murphy, Jamie O'Neill, Thomas Reilly, Matthew Williamson

Producers: Lynnette Moran (ANU), Matt Smyth (ANU), Anne Clarke (Landmark)

Production Manager: Stephen Bourke Company Manager: Barbara Hughes Stage Manager: Leanna Cuttle

Assistant Stage Manager: Diarmuid O'Dwyer

Covid Officer: Morgan Steele

Chief LX: Eoin Lennon

Assistant Director: Samantha Cade

Costume Assistant: Síle Mahon

Make-up and effects: Kevin Murnane

Image credit: Pato Cassinoni

SPONSORS & THANKS

Supported by the Arts Council, Dublin Port and Greater Houston Community Foundation

We would like to thank everyone who made this work possible including — Eamonn O'Reilly, Jerry Grant, Cormac Kennedy, Lar Joye, James Kelleher and all the team at Dublin Port Company; Jack Farrell, Catherine Finn, Brenda Malone and Padraig Yeates.









»DTF«»2021«»DTF«»2021«»DTF«»2021«»DTF«

Tickets on sale now +353 1 6778899 |













DUBLIN THEATRE FESTIVAL WOULD LIKE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE SUPPORT OF THEFRIENDS OF THE FESTIVAL.

Directors
Circle
Susan Cielinski
Andrew & Delyth
Parkes

Producers'
Club
Pat Moylan
Terence O' Rourke

Supporters Club
John Feeney
Nikki Foley & Ed Riley
David Glueck & Brooke
Bremner
Jefferson Smurfit
Foundation
David Lynch
Gerard McNaughton
Brigid O' Connell
Sinead O' Doherty
Helen Rigby

Jacqueline Sheridan

Ciaran Walsh

Double Friend Berniann Condon Maggie Dagge Aisling Daly Jim & Ethna Dowling Leslie & Stella Geraghty Catherine Ghose Caroline Heffernan Edwin & Eilis Humphreys Gerry Kearns Richard King David McGee Timothy McSweeney Eilean Ní Chuilleanain Conal & Mary 0' Rafferty Zoe Quinn Claudia Richter Dearbhail Shannon-Bermingham Michael Woolman Mona Curran

Best Friend Anthony Brown Peter Byers Philomena Byrne Louise C Callaghan Gabrielle Croke Rory Dowling Catherine Durkin Julian Erskine Maria Farrell Anne Fogarty Cinzia Hardy Andrew Hetherington Brid Horan Jennifer Killelea Kay Lennox Gerry Lundberg Mary MacAodha Nuala MacDwver Regina McQuillan Margaret Murray Madeleine Nesbitt Sheila O' Donnell Mary O' Driscoll Dan O' Neill

Friend Gabrielle Alioth Cristiane Alves Camacho dos Santos Ciara Banks Kate Bateman Ray Bates Alexandra Bideaua Maureen Black Gwen Bolger Jane Bolton Frank Branigan Fiona Breen Frances Britton Ann Brophy Aileen Byrne Stephen Cahill Sorcha Cahill Maurice Carey Eithne Carnev Ann-Marie Carroll Paula Cashin Aileen Cashman Michelle Cassidy Martine Chillingworth

Frances Clynes Anne Crawford Tom Creed Liam Cronin Catherine Cronin Veronica Crosbie Brenda Cullen Helen Cullen Michael Daly Ursula Dalv Michelle de Forge Sean Denver Francoise Dignam Laura Doak Philomena Donnelly Thelma Doran Fiona Doris Maeve Douglas Patrick Downey Rose Doyle Thomas Noel Drumgoole Ann Duffv Grainne Duignan Kate Duke John Dunny William Earley Finola Earlev Colin Edwards Kenneth Eisenhardt Miriam Enright Niamh Farren Michael Fitzgerald Clara FitzGerald Deirdre Garvey Shay Garvey Margaret Gaynor Barbara Gerstenberger David Gibney Michael Gleeson Paul Gorecki Marianne Gorman Angie Gough Paul Hanratty Antonia Hart Sarah Harte Mary Hatch Blanaid Haves Daniel Herbert Mary Higgins

Louise Howard Helen Hunt Maura Hynes Conor Johnston Hugh Jordan Jennifer Joyce Naoise Kavanagh Geoffrey Keating Grainne Keegan John Kelly Mary M Kirby Heather Lalor Joseph Lennon Fiona Lester Michael Lloyd Anna Llovd Patrick Lonergan David Lonergan Elizabeth Lynch Ellen MacCafferty Christina Mahony Sheelagh Malin Richard John McBratney Orla McCaffrey Peter McCarron Muire McCarthy Maureen McCaw Kevin McCormack Elaine McGauran Michael McGrath Anna McHugh Sharon McIntyre Liz Mcmanus Anne McQuillan Declan Meade Sara Morris Mairin Murphy Helena Murphy David Murrells Doireann Ní Bhriain Dairine Ni Mheadhra Mlindelwa Nxumalo Sadhbh O' Brien John O' Connor Denise O' Connor Donna Marie 0' Donovan Jacqueline 0' Donne I I Peter O' Driscoll

John Holian

DUBLIN THEATRE FESTIVAL WOULD LIKE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE SUPPORT OF THEFRIENDS OF THE FESTIVAL.

John OFlanagan John O' Gorman Orla O' Hanrahan Kay O' Leary Conor O' Malley Aidan O' Reilly Mark O' Reilly Kevin O' Sullivan Jennifer O' Sullivan Marion J Palmer Dawn Parkinson Ailbhe Parnell Mary Paylides Dominique Peart Melanie Pine Derek Pollard

Catherine Phelan Helen Prendergast Patricia Quigley Patricia Quinn Terry Reid McGuire Eimear Reilly Derval Royston Joanne Rvan Catherine Santoro Colleen Savage Joanne Savage Linda Scales Ian Scott Aoibheann Shannon Joyce Simpson Christopher Singleton

Brian Singleton
Ailbhe Smyth
Edward Soye
Bernadette Sproule
Jean Staunton
Mary Stephenson
Jim Sykes
Anne Talbot
Vivian Tannam
Mary Tierney
Bridget Tierney
Marie Towell
David Towell

Kathleen Tynan
Helen Van Wolvelaere
Katalin Varnyu
Liadain Von Der Decken
Mike Walker
Noreen Walls
Patricia Noonan Walsh
Fiona Walsh
Joan Westrap
Tracey Whelan



Tickets on sale now +353 1 6778899 |











